Feb 2020

原訟法庭肯定證監會檢取數碼設備的調查權力

在現今數碼時代,智能電話、平板電腦、筆記本電腦等電子設備在日常生活中被廣泛使用,無可避免地,這些設備一般同時儲存有關用家工作及私人生活的資料和記錄。在近日Cheung Ka Ho Cyril v Securities and Futures Commission [2020] HKCFI 270 一案中,法院裁定證券及期貨事務監察委員會(「證監會」)就檢取及保留被調查人士的數碼設備,及強制要求該等人士披露設備密碼的決定為合法合憲。

在此案中,5位被證監會調查的人士(「申請人」)向高等法院原訟法庭提出司法覆核申請,質疑下列決定之合法及合憲性:-

(1) 證監會檢取及保留申請人的數碼設備之決定(及裁判官發出的相應搜查令);及

(2) 證監會根據第183條向申請人發出通知要求申請人披露其電郵帳號或數碼設備的密碼之決定。

此等司法覆核申請皆被法院駁回。

案情概要

此等司法覆核程序源於證監會就下列有關涉嫌違反香港法例第571章《證券及期貨條例》的行為而展開並正在進行的調查:-

(1) 艾碩控股有限公司(一所列於香港交易所創業板的上市公司)及其在2017年的上市計劃(證監會在該公司兩個股東陣營互相指責對方干犯嚴重不當行為後介入調查);及

(2) 天譽置業(控股)有限公司及中國農產品交易有限公司(兩所同為香港交易所主板的上市公司)的債券發行。

法庭裁決

法庭裁定證監會的下列行為皆為合法合憲:-

檢取數碼設備

法庭裁定《證券及期貨條例》第179(1)及183(1)(a)條(即授權證監會在此案中進行檢取的條文)中的「記錄」或「文件」兩詞不只包括以紙張或傳統形式存在的記錄或文件,而理應被廣義理解為包括在此案中被證監會檢取的數碼設備。周家明法官於判案書中提到,若法庭將上述條文定義為不包括數碼設備,此舉將「完全與社會實況不符」。

在合憲性的議題上,法官明言《基本法》第30條及《人權法案》第14條所保障的私隱權並非絕對權利。法官指此案案情滿足Hysan Development Co Ltd v Town Planning Board (2016) 19 HKCFAR 372中的「4步均衡比例測試」(即 (i)「合法目的」、(ii)「合理聯繫」、(iii)「不超乎合理所需」及 (iv)「公正平衡」)。

此案的主要爭議在於第 (iii) 及第 (iv) 步:-

-「不超乎合理所需– 由於在本案中證監會人員並沒有檢取屬於申請人的全部數碼設備,而是經初步查驗後,在別無實際他法的情況下檢取看似存有與調查有關的資料的數碼設備,因此法庭裁定本案中的檢取行為不超乎合理所需。

-「公正平衡– 證監會向法庭保證其人員會盡量使用關鍵字搜索的方式以辨出申請人的數碼設備中存有的有關資料,此舉將盡量減少證監會人員在調查中看到無關或私人資料的機會,因此,本案中的檢取行為並沒有為申請人帶來不能接受的艱鉅負擔。

保留數碼設備

 由於案件中的檢取行為已被裁定為合法,周家明法官因而批准證監會繼續保留申請人的數碼設備。

要求披電郵帳號或數碼設備的密碼

即使申請人的電郵帳號或數碼設備可能存有個人或私人資料,法庭仍對證監會在第183(1)條下要求申請人披露電郵帳號或數碼設備密碼的權力予以肯定。由於證監會已就保障申請人的私隱提出實際及合理的保障,法庭亦因此裁定此等要求為合憲。

實際影響

考慮到現今社會中數碼設備的普遍使用度及數碼金融資訊的廣泛流動性,此判決可謂並非意料之外。由於證監會有責任保護及維持香港金融市場的公平公正,所以法院認為證監會必需有權檢取、保留及查閱數碼設備方能有效執行其在現今數碼社會中的調查職能。

有鑒於此判決,若客戶有機會或現正被證監會調查,請留意以下數點:-

(1) 若被證監會突擊調查,請立即尋求法律意見;

(2) 可考慮使用數部不同的數碼設備以分別儲存屬於自己工作、交易及私人生活的資料。證監會無權檢取沒有存有與其調查有關的資料的數碼設備,因此,若數碼設備只單純存有與證監會調查無關的私人資料,證監會則無權檢取,此舉將能確保最少量的私人資料被披露予證監會人員;

(3) 在檢取進行後,可考慮使用全新的數碼設備或帳號,以防止任何於檢取日期後出現的資料不慎被證監會查閱;及

(4) 避免在其他數碼設備或帳號中重複再用相同的密碼組合,以盡量減低設備或帳號將來被調查機構在意外或未經授權的情況下查閱的風險。

按此瀏覽此案件的完整判案書。

按此瀏覽本行有關證券及監管的專業服務。

撰文:合夥人伍家豪律師閻雪霏見習律師蔡樂賢

shutterstock 404939485 - 原訟法庭肯定證監會檢取數碼設備的調查權力

Feb 2020

CFI upholds SFC’s investigative powers on seizure of digital devices

In today’s digital age, electronic devices like smartphones, tablets and notebook computers are widely used in everyone’s daily life. Inevitably, these devices store information and records of one’s work as well as private life. In a recent case Cheung Ka Ho Cyril v Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) [2020] HKCFI 270, the Court upholds the SFC’s decisions to seize and retain digital devices owned by persons under investigation and to compel disclosure of passwords, as lawful and constitutional.

In this case, 5 individuals under SFC investigation (the “Applicants”) applied to the Court of First Instance for judicial review challenging the lawfulness and constitutionality of:-

(1) the SFC’s decisions (and the corresponding search warrants issued by magistrates) to seize and retain the Applicants’ digital devices; and

(2) the SFC’s decisions to issue a s.183 notice requiring the Applicants to disclose passwords to their email accounts or digital devices.

These judicial review applications were all dismissed by the Court.

Summary of Facts

These judicial review proceedings arose out of the SFC’s ongoing investigations on suspected breaches of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571; “SFO”) related to:

(1) Aeso Holdings Ltd (listed on the Growth Enterprise Market Board of the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong) and its listing in 2017, following disputes between two camps of shareholders of the company in which both complained that the other side had committed serious misconduct; and

(2) Bond placements by Skyfame Realty (Holdings) Ltd and China Agri-Products Exchange Ltd (both listed on the Main Board).

The Court’s Decision

The Court held that the following actions taken by the SFC were all lawful and constitutional:-

Seizures of digital devices

It was held that the words “record” or “document” under s.179(1) and 183(1)(a) of the SFO – the empowering statutory provisions of the seizures in question – are not confined to records or documents in paper or traditional forms, but are sufficiently wide to cover the digital devices seized by the SFC in the present case. In reaching his decision on this issue, the Honourable Mr. Justice Anderson Chow commented that it would be “wholly out of touch with reality” to read the above SFO provisions as excluding digital devices from the scope of the provisions.

On the issue of constitutionality, the Judge established from the outset that the right to privacy guaranteed under Article 30 of the Basic Law and Article 14 of the Bill of Rights is not absolute. In upholding the constitutionality of the seizures, the Judge found that the 4-step proportionality test established in Hysan Development Co Ltd v Town Planning Board (2016) 19 HKCFAR 372 (i.e. (i) “legitimate aim”, (ii) “rational connection”, (iii) “no more than reasonably necessary” and (iv) “fair balance”) was satisfied in the present case.

The main contentions in this case were on steps (iii) and (iv):-

– “No more than reasonably necessary” – it was held that the seizures in question were no more than reasonably necessary, since the SFC’s officers did not seize each and every digital devices belonging to the Applicants; instead, the officers had no practical alternatives but to seize the devices which upon preliminary examination appeared to contain relevant materials to the investigations.

– “Fair balance – the Court was satisfied by the SFC’s assurance that it is amenable to using keyword searches to identify the relevant materials contained in the Applicants’ digital devices – a practice designed to minimise the chances of irrelevant or personal information being viewed by the SFC’s officers. The seizures therefore did not result in any unacceptably harsh burden on the Applicants.

Retention of digital devices

As the seizures of the digital devices were held to be rightful, the Honourable Mr. Justice Anderson Chow accordingly allowed the SFC’s continued retention of the digital devices seized.

Requests for passwords to email accounts or digital devices

The Court upheld the SFC’s power under s.183(1) in requiring the Applicants to provide passwords to their email accounts and digital devices, even though the accounts and devices would also likely contain other personal or private materials. The Court upheld the constitutionality of these requests, particularly due to the practical and reasonable safeguards offered by the SFC to protect the privacy of the Applicants.

Practical Implications

Given the prevalence of digital devices and the massive flow of digital financial information nowadays, this ruling does not really come as a surprise. Since the SFC is entrusted with the responsibility of protecting and maintaining the integrity of the financial markets in Hong Kong, the Court sees the SFC’s power to seize, retain and access digital devices as a necessary corollary to its investigative function in today’s digital world.

In light of this decision, clients dealing with potential or ongoing SFC investigations should pay attention to the following:-

(1) Seek immediate legal advice in the event of a “dawn raid” by the SFC;

(2) Consider using different digital devices to separately store information on one’s work, financial transactions and private life. The SFC does not have power to seize digital devices which contain no information relevant to its investigations. Therefore, by using a device solely for storing private information which have no bearing on any SFC-related issues, one can ensure that minimal personal information would become viewable to the SFC’s officers;

(3) Consider using new devices or accounts after the seizure to prevent any post-seizure information from being accidentally viewable by the SFC; and

(4) Refrain from using the same password combination for any other digital devices or accounts to minimise the risk of any unintended or unauthorised access by the investigation authorities in the future.

For the full judgment on this case, please click here.

For details of our Securities & Regulatory practice, please click here.

Written by: Felix Ng, Partner; Florence Yan, Associate; Jacky Tsai, Trainee Solicitor

shutterstock 404939485 - CFI upholds SFC’s investigative powers on seizure of digital devices